Stories of rivalry and the economic hardships of whaling…

Hello all!

My most recent post just went live on NG’s Explorer’s Journal site. Check it out for more stories! The days are dwindling for me – only five more! Today is the first day of orientation for my graduate school program – hard to imagine myself in Massachusetts right now but I better start getting used to the idea…. Hope to have more for you soon!

Francisco Xavier Simas, age 83, shows me the painting inside the whaleboat house in his village of Ribeiras on Pico. While not based off of any particular story, the depiction of the whale breaking a boat was well within the realm of truth. Photo by Gemina Garland-Lewis.

Leave a Reply

